The Town and Country Planning Department (TCPD) was established in 1945 and charged with the responsibility of planning and management of growth and development of cities, towns and villages in the country.

It therefore seeks to promote sustainable human settlements development based on principles of efficiency, orderliness, safety and healthy growth of communities.

It is a unique service delivery Department under the Ministry of Environment, Science and Technology.The TCPD, until the administrative reforms of the 1980s, operated purely as a Civil Service Department with the Head Office in Accra and branch offices at the Regions and the Districts.
Prior to 1993, responsibility for planning lay with the Minister responsible for Town and Country Planning (The Town and Country Planning Act of 1958 (Act 30).

This modified the provision of the Town and Country Planning (Gold Coast), CAP 84 which had established a Town and Country Planning Board, responsible for the orderly and progressive development of land, towns and other areas whether rural or urban, and the preservation and improvement of amenities in these areas.

The Board was officially abolished in 1960 under the Town and Country Planning (Amendment) Act of 1960 (Act 33).
However the powers of the board were vested effectively with the Town and Country Planning Department through the powers given to the Minister.